Life. Changes.

As a 23 year old Newly Qualified Teacher, the whole world is in the palm of my hands… (or should I say, this is what I have been told!) Imagine one day being in university, completing your degree and constantly wondering and guessing where you will actually end up within a few years time. Well here I am. Successful job, proud, happy and content. Yet I still find myself wondering, what else does life have to offer that I may not have discovered yet?

Nobody, as you grow older from your teenage years, tells you how difficult responsibilities and the real life of work actually is. There are days when I want to rewind time and go back to being a 7 year old, in primary school, learning about plants and drawing dinosaurs using multi coloured crayons. Life can pass by so quickly and in the blink of an eye, you find yourself at 23 years of age, feeling like your life is at an automatic stand still and you don’t know where you will be in the next few years! Will I still be a teacher, 20-30 years from now? Will I be a mother? A wife?

Life is completely unpredictable. That is why I wake up every single day and fight through it. The struggles of getting out of bed, planning lessons, attending to numerous 16-18 year old students that need my help to succeed in their education. The exhaustion I put to the back of my mind and even my appetite becomes lost amongst all the madness of attempting to be the best that I can be, within my career. But I can’t help but wonder and drift to an imaginary place where I’m in a place far away from here, possibly on an island or a beach with some chicken and chips and a Vin Diesel or someone of the same bodily buffness beside me! I want to be a wanderer… Someone that travels, someone that makes the most out of their life.

That is why I will book myself not one, not two but three holidays this year and actually treat myself for working (as I like to think) as hard as I do and doing something for ME for a change. That’s where I feel we all go wrong, what did we do for ourselves today? What did you wake up and do for yourself in order to make yourself feel appreciated? What did you do today to love yourself? We spend our lives constantly hoping for someone to come along and love us; show us what being loved and appreciated feels like. But that true content lies within our selves. We can get so caught up with working, providing, giving, rushing, being everything need to be for others that surround us. But what are we for ourselves? It is time to realise that life is extremely limited and we live on borrowed time. Do something that makes you happy every single day, even if the whole world is completely against it. Do something for you.

My goal this year is to focus on me; because I am the most important person in my story. I hope that you will too.8514

Leave a comment